PMO SECURITY SERVICES
Kansas City, Kansas
INITIAL TRAINING PLAN
KANSAS CONCEALED CARRY HANDGUN LICENSE
- Personal and Family Protection Act (2006) SB 418 & HB 2118
- K.A.R. 16-11-1 through 16-11-6.
- Kansas Attorney General's Office, CCH Instructor Draft Instructor Manual dated June 15, 2006
SUMMARY OF STATUTORY/REGULATION REQUIREMENTS. The above listed statutes and regulations impose requirements which must be met in order to attain and maintain a Kansas Concealed Carry Handgun License. These are summarized for guidance:
- Concealed carriage of firearms by a private citizen in Kansas requires initial and renewal training by a certified instructor and initial and renewal proficiency firing.
- Kansas license pertains only to concealed carry of a handgun.
- There is no restriction on the type, action, etc. of the handgun.
- Kansas statutes and Federal codes prohibit carry of handgun in certain locations even with the license.
- Kansas requires training on lawful use of force, concepts of civil liability and criminal culpability; safe storage methods; firearm operation fundamentals and safety; marksmanship fundamentals and safety procedures; survival mindset; and minimal proficiency firing. A written test based on provided questions is required. The training must be 8 hours for initial training; it will be primarily time-based; authority to reduce the training time or alter the content has not been granted. Safety procedures, storage and locking devices must be taught before all other segments of training.
- The minimum firing proficiency course is specified. It must be a 25-round course of fire at 3, 7 and 10 yards using an FBI TQ-15 or IALEFI-Q Silhouette stationary target. A minimum standard of 70% is required to demonstrate proficiency with a handgun.
- The license confers no special use of force or arrest authority in Kansas; there is no special status granted nor any official obligation to act for the public benefit that differs from that of any other citizen.
- Physical force may be used to protect people; use of force likely to cause death or serious bodily harm (deadly force) must be based on a reasonable belief by the Private Citizen that an aggressor is using or is about to use unlawful force likely to cause death or serious bodily harm (a reasonable belief and imminent use standard). Kansas statutes deny an aggressor the right to use force, and require an aggressor to cease and withdraw to regain the right of self-defense.
- Kansas grants special status to dwellings and occupied vehicles, indicating that deadly force may be used to stop deadly attacks upon the dwelling of the individual using the deadly force or to stop deadly attacks upon an occupied vehicle.
- Kansas grants the right to use non-deadly force to protect property.
- Kansas has specifically enacted a ‘no retreat' standard for self-defense.
INITIAL FIREARMS TRAINING.
Initial firearms and lawful use of force training is given to new applicants for a Kansas concealed carry handgun license. The basic course content and length is specified by the state regulating agency.
Introduction & Class Safety
- Classroom safety
- Class objectives
- To qualify students to carry concealed handguns after successfully completing an 8-hour course of instruction.
- To educate students on the responsibility of firearms safety, use of deadly force, maintenance of firearms, proper mental conditioning, marksmanship and judgmental shooting situations, as required by law.
- To have students display knowledge and proficiency of deadly force issues by passing an approved written test. All incorrect answers will be reviewed with the instructor before the conclusion of the class.
- To have students display proficiency with a handgun by qualifying during the course with a minimum of 18 of the 25 required rounds striking the scoring portion on an approved target.
Introduction to Handguns, Safe Handling and Storage of Handguns.
- Safety Procedures.
- Class Rules.
- Children - Use of Eddie Eagle principles
- Daily handling
- Unknown firearms.
- Handgun Operation.
- Safety Devices, Locks and Storage Methods
- Use of Cable locks, padlocks, barrel locks & trigger locks.
- Familiarize with various storage containers
- Use of bullet traps or ballistic pads.
Firearm Care and Maintenance
- Demonstration on disassembly and cleaning (as needed).
- Function checks
- Personal and Family Protection Act and KAR 16-6
- Common Law Concepts.
- Civil Liability Principles.
- Legal Issues of Deadly Force Incidents.
- Pertinent Statutes and Regulations
- Firearms and carry restrictions.
- Use of Force.
- Local Ordinances.
- Use of Force Exercises.
- Summary of Use of Deadly Force Issues in Kansas.
Risk Analysis/ Confrontation Mindset.
- Reasons for carrying - attitude
- Risk analysis process
- Identify opponents.
- Gather information.
- Analyze data.
- Develop counteraction.
- Firearms effectiveness
- The defensive encounter
- Violence escalation cycle
- Danger range concepts
- Use of force options
- Effects of the confrontation
- Tactical tests for Legal Threshold to Use Deadly Force
- Private Citizen Recommended Engagement Procedure
- After Action Guidelines
- Reporting the event
- Recommended personal actions
Firearms Firing and Handling Techniques.
- (a) Fundamentals.
- Breathing - rhythm.
- Sight alignment - sight picture.
- Trigger control - position, timing, follow-thru.
- Safety Circle
- Firing positions. [Isosceles and Weaver techniques]
- Drawing Techniques.
- Belt holster - Jordan techniques.
- Shoulder holster.
- Pocket holster.
- Ankle holster.
- Belt bag.
- Weak hand.
- Target Engagement.
- Aiming points.
- Use of cover.
- Scan and Search Technique.
- Reload techniques.
- Tactical Engagement Techniques
- Hip Shots
- Point Shooting
- Incorporating movement
Written Test. The test is 25 state approved questions which are either True/False or Multiple Choice. Passing requires a 100% score. Applicants may retake the test to pass or be given a verbal test. The point is to ensure that the individual understands the material.
Range Firing. Course Description
Certification Standards. A concealed carry handgun license applicant will be considered proficient and certified to the regulating agency when the following has been demonstrated:
- Completion of the 8 hour training session specified for initial applicants.
- Passing written test with 100% score.
- Range firing for record on minimum proficiency course.
JOHN W. ELLIS, B.S., M.A.J.
NRA Certified Law Enforcement/Security Firearm Instructor
NRA Certified Tactical Handgun Instructor
PMO Security Services, Kansas City, KS
Last Modified: 31 December 2012